Gabriel García Márquez Best Books: Top 15 Novels, Novellas And Short Stories To Remember The Late Nobel Laureate's Legacy

Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Gabriel García Márquez dies at the age of 87.

After a lenghtly battle with lymphatic cancer, the late Colombian author and Nobel Laureate, Gabriel García Márquez, has reportedly died at the age of 87. Márquez was recently hosptialized for a multitude of reasons including a respitory and urinary-tract infection as well as dehydration. He was released however, and said to be doing better but was in fragile condition. 

Known affectionately as "Gabo" throughout Latin America, he is considered one of the most significant authors of the 20th century. He is survived by his wife Mercedes Barcha Pardo and two sons Rodrigo Garcia Barcha and Gonzalo Garcia Barcha. 

The Latin American author got his start as a journalist, and has written many acclaimed non-fiction works, but is best known for his novels, novellas and short stories, which in 1982 won García Márquez the Nobel prize. His works have achieved significant critical acclaim and widespread commercial success. Notably for popularizing a literary style referred to as magic realism, which uses magical elements and events in ordinary and realistic situations.

García Márquez leaves behind a legacy as an important part of the Latin American Boom of Literature. Moreover, he has galvanized Colombian literature in an unprecedented way."Whether in fiction or nonfiction, in the epic novel or the concentrated story, García Márquez is now recognized in the words of Carlos Fuentes as 'the most popular and perhaps the best writer in Spanish since Cervantes.'"

To commemorate his legacy, we have compiled a list of 15 novels, novellas and non-fiction books you should read from Gabriel García Márquez. 

- Novels

In Evil Hour (1962)

One Hundred Years of Solitude (1967)

The Autumn of the Patriarch (1975)

Love in the Time of Cholera (1985)

The General in His Labyrinth (1989)

Of Love and Other Demons (1994)

- Novellas

No One Writes to the Colonel (1961)

Chronicle of a Death Foretold (1981)

Memories of My Melancholy Whores (2004)

- Short Stories 

Eyes of a Blue Dog (1947)

The Incredible and Sad Tale of Innocent Erendira and Her Heartless Grandmother (1978)

Strange Pilgrims (1993)

- Non-fiction 

The Solitude of Latin America (1982) [This is the title of his speech upon eceiving his Nobel Prize in Literature]

Clandestine in Chile (1986)

Living to Tell the Tale (2002)

What do you think?
Join the Discussion