UPDATE:  Miss Universe 2013 has been crowned and it's Miss Venezuela. Read more about the winner here: 6 Top Things To Know About Miss Venezuela, Maria Gabriela Isler

The Miss Universe competition brings the most beautiful women from around the world and through the history of the pageant, there have been 21 Latinas who have won the crown earning themselves the title of the most beautiful woman in the universe since the pageant began in 1952. Venezuela boasts six wins--the most in any Latin country--with Puerto Rico a close second at five victories. In 2009, Venezuela set the record for being the first nation to win consecutive titles. Meanwhile, Colombia has a different cap in their feather: The nation has won the best National Costume Award six times making it the most any country has won.

The Miss Universe pageant evolved from a local "bathing beauty" competition by Catalina Swimwear in Long Beach, CA and has since transitioned into an international affair catching the attention of millions around the globe. "These women are savvy, goal-oriented and aware," says the pageant on its website. "The delegates who become part of the Miss Universe Organization display those characteristics in their everyday lives, both as individuals, who compete with hope of advancing their careers, personal and humanitarian goals, and as women who seek to improve the lives of others."

Here is the complete list below, ordered chronologically: 1957 Gladys Zender (Peru); 1958 Luz Marina Zuluaga (Colombia); 1962 Norma Beatriz Nolan (Argentina); 1963 Iêda Maria Vargas (Brazil);  1968 Martha Vasconcellos (Brazil); 1970 Marisol Malaret (Puerto Rico); 1979 Maritza Sayalero (Venezuela); 1981 Irene Sáez (Venezuela); 1985 Deborah Carthy Deu (Puerto Rico); 1986 Bárbara Palacios Teyde (Venezuela); 1987 Cecilia Bolocco (Chile); 1991 Lupita Jones (Mexico); 1993 Dayanara Torres (Puerto Rico); 1996 Alicia Machado (Venezuela); 2001 Denise Quiñones (Puerto Rico); 2002 Justine Pasek (Panama); 2003 Amelia Vega (Dominican Republic); 2006 Zuleyka Rivera (Puerto Rico); 2008 Dayana Mendoza (Venezuela); 2009 Stefanía Fernández (Venezuela); 2010 Ximena Navarrete (Mexico); 2013 María Gabriela Isler (Venezuela).