The ten nominees were announced on Friday for the 2014 FIFA World Cup Adidas Golden Ball Trophy. Of the ten nominees that were announced in Rio de Janiero, half of them are Latino! Lionel Messi, Neymar and James Rodriguez are just a few of the Latino nominees that we believe should win the award.

For those that don’t know, the Golden Ball trophy is given to the World Cup tournament’s most outstanding player, it is essentially, the MVP of the entire tournament. The nominees are chosen by a Technical Study Group that is assembled by FIFA before the World Cup begins. The group consists of coaches, former players, referees and FIFA officials who watch each of the 64 matches and then vote on the nominees and the winners.

The winner of the Adidas Golden Ball will be announced after the World Cup Final match between Argentina and Germany on Sunday at the Maracana in Rio de Janiero. At that time, FIFA will also announce the winner of the Silver Ball (second place), the Bronze Ball (third place) and the Golden Boot (most goals in the tournament).

Here are the 10 nominees for the Adidas Golden Ball (in Alphabetical Order):

1.      Angel Di Maria (Argentina)

2.      Mats Hummels (Germany)

3.      Toni Kroos (Germany)

4.      Phillip Lahm (Germany)

5.      Javier Mascherano (Argentina)

6.      Lionel Messi (Argentina)

7.      Thomas Mueller (Germany)

8.      Neymar (Brazil)

9.      Arjen Robben (Netherlands)

10.  James Rodriguez (Colombia)


Make sure to vote below on which Latino you want to win the award.