Univision tiró la casa por la ventana during the 28th ceremony of "Premio Lo Nuestro A La Música Latina." Twitter/PremioLoNuestro/MarcAnthony

Miami was the place to be on Thursday night! Some of the hottest stars in the Latino music industry walked the 2016 Premio Lo Nuestro’s magenta carpet and we loved every second of it! Raúl De Molina, Chiquinquirá Delgado, Tony Dandrades and William Valdés were some of the hosts in charge of giving presenters, nominees, and guest celebrities a warm welcome before the real party began.

Once inside the American Airlines Arena, hosts Galilea Montijo and Arath De La Torre took over the stage and graciously entertained attendees throughout the rest of the night. This year, the viewing audience was treated to some of the biggest surprises we’ve seen during the award season. As we say in Mexico, Univision ahora sí se puso guapo!

Among some of the best moments of the night were, the opening number with Pitbull, Farruko, Joe Perry and Robin Thicke combining two musical cultures on stage. Thalía and Maluma performing their catchy new single “Desde Esa Noche.” Prince Royce’s return to his bachata roots with “Culpa Al Corazón.”

As the night went on, the amazing display of Latino talent just kept getting better and better with Carlos Vives’ performance, who was joined by Juanes, Fonseca, Silvestre, Jorge Celedon, ChocQuibTown, Maluma, J Balvin, and some of the most recognized soccer players on stage before accepting his award. Also among our favorite moments of the night were Sin Bandera’s reunion and Paquita La Del Barrio’s special tribute presented by the one and only, Gloria Trevi, who also delighted the audience with her single “El Amor.”

The complete list Premio Lo Nuestro 2016 winners:


“Premio Lo Nuestro” Artist of the Year: J Balvin

Video of the Year: “La Mordidita” (Ricky Martin, featuring Yotuel)

Best New Artist: Javier Rosas

Album of the Year: “Hoy Más Fuerte” (Gerardo Ortiz)

Collaboration of the Year: “El Perdón” (Nicky Jam, featuring Enrique Iglesias)


Pop Album of the Year: “A Quien Quiera Escuchar” (Ricky Martin)

Pop Song of the Year: “Disparo al Corazón” (Ricky Martin)

Female Pop Artist of the Year: Natalia Jiménez

Male Pop Artist of the Year: Enrique Iglesias

Pop Group/Duo of the Year: Jesse & Joy


Tropical Album of the Year: “Soy El Mismo (Deluxe Edition)” (Prince Royce)

Tropical Song of the Year: “Soy El Mismo” (Prince Royce)

Male Tropical Artist of the Year: Marc Anthony

Female Tropical Artist of the Year: Leslie Grace

Tropical Group/Duo of the Year: Los Cadillacs

Tropical Artist of the Year: Marc Anthony


Regional Mexican Album of the Year: “Quiero Ser Tu Dueño” (Luis Coronel)

Regional Mexican Song of the Year: “Y Así Fue” (Julión Álvarez)

Male Regional Mexican Artist of the Year: Luis Coronel

Female Regional Mexican Artist of the Year: Chiquis Rivera

Regional Mexican Banda Artist of the Year: Julión Álvarez y su Banda Norteña

Regional Mexican Group or Duo of the Year: Calibre 50

Regional Mexican Norteño Artist of the Year: Gerardo Ortiz


Urban Album of the Year: “La Familia B Sides” (J Balvin)

Urban Song of the Year: “El Perdón” (Nicky Jam, featuring Enrique Iglesias)

Urban Artist of the Year: Nicky Jam

© 2024 Latin Times. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.