Gloria Estefan, Emilio Estefan
Gloria Estefan and Emilio Estefan attends the 'The Latin Explosion: A New America,' Premiere Screening on November 10, 2015 in New York City. Gustavo Caballero/Getty Images for HBO Latino

The White House has announced on Monday the 17 recipients who will receive a "Presidential of Freedom" medal in 2015. Amongst the well-deserved list are Latino power couple Emilio and Gloria Estefan. The medal, according to the White House official website, is the Nation’s highest civilian honor. It's presented to "individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors."

The Estefans, who have been inducted into the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame and are multi-winning Latin Grammy and Grammy artists, began their musical careers in the '70s as founding members of the Miami Sound Machine. The Cuban-American couple has shaped the work of countless of stars and has helped popularize Latin music around the world. Both Emilio and Gloria have been involved in politics for years; in fact, they recently recorded a song called "We're All Mexican," in regards of 2016 Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump’s racist remarks.

"I look forward to presenting these 17 distinguished Americans with our nation’s highest civilian honor," said President Barack Obama in a statement. "From public servants who helped us meet defining challenges of our time to artists who expanded our imaginations, from leaders who have made our union more perfect to athletes who have inspired millions of fans, these men and women have enriched our lives and helped define our shared experience as Americans.”

The other recipients include: Yogi Berra (posthumous), Bonnie Carroll, Shirley Chisholm (posthumous), Billy Frank, Jr.(posthumous),Lee Hamilton, Katherine G. Johnson, Willie Mays,Barbara Mikulski, Itzhak Perlman, William Ruckelshaus, Stephen Sondheim,Steven Spielberg, Barbra Streisand,James Taylor and Minoru Yasui (posthumous). Obama will present the medals Nov. 24 at the White House.

© 2024 Latin Times. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.