Emmanuel Lubezki
Mexican cinematographer Emmanuel Lubezki claimed his fourth ASC win for his work on Alejandro González Iñárritu's "Birdman". REUTERS/Adrees Latif

Last Sunday, Emmanuel Lubezki tied the record of four ASC wins held by legendary cinematographer Conrad L. Hall, by claiming his fourth ASC win. Lubezki had previously recieved honors for “The Tree of Life”, “Children of Men”, and was nominated for the 1999 award for "Sleepy Hollow". Last year, he won his third award for “Gravity”, for which he also received his first Academy Award. ‘Chivo’ Lubezki earned his fourth ASC Award for his work in Alejandro González Iñárritu’s “Birdman” for achieving the appearance of one continuous take throughout the entire film. After accepting his ASC Award, Lubezki thanked the cast and crew, before thanking González Iñárritu for his “courage, insanity and genius.”

Barbara Streisand accepted her ASC Board of Governors Award, following the footsteps of fellow winning directors like Christopher Nolan, Warren Beatty, Jodie Foster and Julia Roberts. The actress, producer and director spoke about her experiences with cinematographers, particularly how special it was to work with “The Godfather’s” cinematographer, Gordon Willis, “He taught me a lot about light – and the beauty of turning it down.”

The complete list of winners includes:

Theatrical Motion Picture - “Birdman”, Emmanuel Lubezki

Episode Of A Regular Series - “Boardwalk Empire”, “Golden Days for Boys and Girls” (HBO), Jonathan Freeman

Television Movie, Miniseries or Pilot - “Manhattan”, Pilot (WGN America), John Lindley

Spotlight Award - Peter Flinckenberg, “Concrete Night” (Betoniyö)

© 2024 Latin Times. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.