Greta Thunberg
Greta Thunberg GW University Calendar

The 16-year-old climate change activist, Greta Thunberg, enjoys another feather on her cap after being named Waterstones' author of the year for her very first book, titled "No One Is Too Small To Make A Difference." Her work, which was published in May, is a collection of all her speeches related to climate change.

"The Boy, The Mole, The Fox And The Horse" by Charlie Mackesy, won the book of the year award beating Candice Carty-William's Queenie and Margaret Atwood's The Testaments. Mackesy is a former cartoonist, and his book is an amalgamation of illustrations with a handwritten story about the friendship between a boy and three animals.

Winning this award is definitely a significant accomplishment for Greta. The book contains eleven speeches that the environmental activist wrote regarding global warming and climate change. These speeches were also presented in front of the UN, the EU, the World Economic Forum, and even during her protests. One of her most famous speeches, called "Our House Is On Fire," is also included in the book.

Waterstones generally just chooses a book of the year. However, this year, they decided to award the author of the year, too.

Kate McHale from Waterstones said, "The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse is a wise and beautiful tale calling for love, friendship, and courage." She continued saying, "Greta Thunberg's speeches have been an inspiration to millions... Both choices are a testament to the extraordinary power of books to move and shape us."

The books that were nominated this year for "Waterstones book of the year" are;

The Testaments by Margaret Atwood

Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams

The Binding by Bridget Collins

Underland by Robert Macfarlane

The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse by Charlie Mackesy

Prisoners Of Geography: Our World Explained in 12 Simple Maps by Tim Marshall, illustrated by Grace Easton and Jessica Smith

The House Without Windows by Barbara Newhall-Follett, illustrated by Jackie Morris

Lanny by Max Porter

On The Origin Of Species by Sabina Radeva

Dishoom by Shamil Thakrar, Kavi Thakrar & Naved Nasir

No One Is Too Small To Make A Difference by Greta Thunberg

Last year, Sally Rooney won the book of the year award for "Normal People." Greta has not yet commented on her win. In fact, she recently even turned down an environmental award, along with the prize money saying that the climate movement doesn’t require any more awards.

© 2023 Latin Times. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.