Michael Jordan
Michael Jordan AFP

The annual regular season MVP award for the NBA will now be named after Michael Jordan. There are also five new re-imagined trophies named after some of the game’s greatest.

Jordan won the MVP award 5 times in his career, second only to all-time leading scorer Kareem Abdul-Jabbar who won it 6 times. The NBA is also adding a new award for the regular season, named the Clutch Player of the Year, and is named after Jerry West.

The other trophies being renamed include:

The Hakeem Olajuwon Trophy for Defensive Player of the Year

The George Mikan Trophy for Most Improved Player

The Wilt Chamberlain Trophy for Rookie of the Year

The John Havlicek Trophy for Sixth Man of the Year

The NBA has updated nearly all of its trophies in the past few seasons. The All-Star game MVP was renamed after Kobe Bryant. The Eastern Conference MVP was named after Larry Bird and the Western Conference MVP was named after Magic Johnson.

© 2024 Latin Times. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.