Alejandro González Iñárritu
Producer of "The Revenant," Alejandro González Iñárritu speaks onstage during the 2016 Producers Guild Awards Nominees Breakfast at The Montalban on January 23, 2016 in Hollywood, California. Mike Windle/Getty Images

The 27th annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony took place last night in LA’s Hyatt Regency Century Plaza, where not only producers were present, but several stars like Sarah Paulson, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Michael B. Jordan, America Ferrera, Ray Liotta, Amanda Seyfried, amongst others, went to show their support. The awards are known to carry a specific importance for Oscar frontrunners, since, for the last eight years the film that’s won the PGA has also (possibly coincidentally) won the top prize at the Academy Awards. This was the case for Iñárritu with last year’s “Birdman,” with which he took both prizes.

However, after last night’s ceremony, things might have changed for the Mexican director as “The Big Short,” which addresses the 2008 financial crisis and starring Christian Bale, Ryan Gosling, Brad Pitt and Steve Carell, beat “Mad Max: Fury Road,” “Bridge of Spies,” “Ex Machina,” “The Martian,” “The Revenant,” “Sicario,” “Spotlight,” “Brooklyn” and “Straight Outta Compton” for the top prize. If theories are true, Iñárritu’s “The Revenant” could get snubbed in the biggest categories, despite being nominated 12 times.

Here is the list of winners:

Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

“Inside Out”

Producer: Jonas Rivera

Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures


Producer: James Gay-Rees

Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama

“Game of Thrones” (Season 5)

Producers: David Benioff, D.B. Weiss, Bernadette Caulfield, Frank Doelger, Carolyn Strauss, Bryan Cogman, Lisa McAtackney, Chris Newman, Greg Spence

Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy

“Transparent” (Season 1)

Producers: Jill Soloway, Andrea Sperling, Victor Hsu, Nisha Ganatra, Rick Rosenthal, Bridget Bedard

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television

“Fargo” (Season 2)

Producers: Noah Hawley, John Cameron, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Warren Littlefield, Kim Todd

Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television

“Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” (Season 2)

Producers: Tim Carvell, John Oliver, Liz Stanton

Outstanding Producer of Competition Television

“The Voice” (Seasons 7 and 8)

Producers: Audrey Morrissey, Mark Burnett, John de Mol, Marc Jansen, Lee Metzger, Chad Hines, Jim Roush, Kyra Thompson, Mike Yurchuk, Amanda Zucker, Carson Daly

Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television

“The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst” (Season 1)

Producers: Marc Smerling, Andrew Jarecki, Jason Blum

Outstanding Sports Program

“Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel”

Outstanding Children’s Program

“Sesame Street”

Outstanding Digital Series

“Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee”

© 2023 Latin Times. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.