Dascha Polanco Eugenio Derbez Raquel Welch
Dascha Polanco, Eugenio Derbez, Raquel Welch amongst honorees selected by The National Association of Latino Independent Producers. Reuters/Getty/Reuters

The National Association of Latino Independent Producers, NALIP, has announced this year’s honorees for the 16th annual Latino Media Awards ceremony, which will happen in Hollywood, Los Angeles this June 27. Amongst the winners is legendary actress Raquel Welch, who will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, along with well as Mexican TV and movie star Eugenio Derbez, who will be honored with the Outstanding Achievement Award, and “Orange Is The New Black” actress Dascha Polanco will be honored with the prestigious Lupe Award.

NALIP Executive Director, Axel Caballero explained, “no one likes to use the word ‘legend’ lightly” so it’s only appropriate to use to merely begin describing what Welch is. The honor is awarded to which artists who have had a deep impact on the entertainment industry as a leader for the arts and for Latinos. Polanco’s Lupe Award aims to spotlight Latino talents who have had a serious amount of buzz and have a promising future ahead of them in the business.

After being ranked as the No.1 most influential Hispanic male in the world by Variety, Derbez will receive the outstanding honor for achieving tremendous success and producing quality Latino content. His last movie “Instructions Not Included” became the most successful Spanish-language film in the US as well as internationally. Other recipients of the award include, Salma Hayek, “Modern Family” star Sofía Vergara and Kenny Ortega.

© 2023 Latin Times. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.