'Mira Quien Baila' Confirms Judges For Univision Reality Show

Mira Quien Baila Season 4 Semi-Final
Four semi-finalists started at the beginning of the show, Pedro Moreno, Marjorie de Sousa, Johnny Lozada and Mane de la Parra Univision

The return of "Mira Quien Baila" approaches and Univision announced the three celebrities that will be judging the competition. Puerto Rican actress and dancer Roselyn Sánchez, TV personality Johnny Lozada and Spanish choreographer Javier “Poty” Castillo will serve as judges. As 10 of the most popular Latino entertainers show off their dance moves, the judges will determine the finalists for viewers to eventually vote on to win a $50,000 donation to the charity of their choice.

Multitalented Roselyn Sánchez, popular among Hispanic and non-Hispanic audiences alike as actress in “Rush Hour 2,” Without a Trace” and “The Game Plan,” got her start as a dancer and model in Puerto Rico. This year, while awaiting the birth of her second child, she and her husband, Eric Winter, co-wrote a children’s book titled “Sebi and the Land of Cha Cha Cha.”

Johnny Lozada returns to MQB as a judge after winning the show’s fourth season. The beloved TV personality started his career with Puerto Rican boy band Menudo and recently, he participated as judge of Univision’s hit children’s competition “Pequeños Gigantes” (Little Giants).

Poty Castillo is one of the biggest names in dance. He knows the MQB format well, since he choreographed previous seasons. Castillo began his career studying ballet in Spain and went on to work on projects ranging from helping the Spanish women’s rhythmic gymnastics team win a world championship to choreographing Enrique Iglesias’s “Bailamos” European tour. He has also worked with artists from Celia Cruz to Mariah Carey, as well as hosting hit programs on Spanish TV.

The 10 stars that will be showcasing their talents on the dance floor are: Pablo Montero, Dayanara Torres, Victoria "La Mala," Ektor Rivera, Ana Patricia, Franco Noriega, Marlene Favela, Alejandro Nones, ChikyBomBom and Danell Leyva.

Winners of the previous editions of MQB include actor Vadhir Derbez (2010), TV host Adamari López (2011), singer Henry Santos (2012), and TV personality Johnny Lozada (2013). There will be 10 celebrity contestants that will compete for a $50,000 grand prize for a charity of their choice. 

"Mira Quien Baila" is set to premiere on Sunday, September 17 starting at 8pm/7c on Univision. Lourdes Díaz, Univision’s president of Entertainment said of the show's return: "We are beyond excited for ‘Mira Quién Baila’s’ comeback which, without a doubt, will bring families together, not just on the edge of their seats, but on their feet dancing along every Sunday night."

What do you think?

Armando Tinoco is an Orange County-based writer with a degree in Marketing from Cal. State Fullerton and a degree in Graphic Design from the Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising. In addition to reporting for Latin Times and when he is not watching Brazilian and Mexican telenovelas or quoting lines from "Clueless" and "Friends" he is brushing up his skills in CSS and responsive website design. Some of his celebrity idols include Eiza Gonzalez, Paulina Rubio and Amanda Bynes.