Lionel Messi
'Best Player': The first and best candidate for the award is Lionel Messi. Photo by: AFP/Paul Ellis

"The Best" awards' seventh edition will be presented on Monday, Feb. 27, 2023. The FIFA headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland, will host the award presentation. It's critical to keep in mind that these honors are unrelated to the Ballon d'Or award presented by France Football magazine.

The contest has a special voting process that is broken up into four stages to choose the winners. The first section will consider votes from the general public on a global scale, the second part will consider votes from specialized journalists.

The third and fourth, respectively, will include input from the coaches and captains of all current FIFA-registered international teams.

To choose the winners in the different categories, the period of time between August 8, 2021, and December 18, 2022, the date on which the world final was played in Qatar, will be taken into account, reports Latin American Post.

There will be eight different awards given out. The most notorious is the Puskás for best goal, the best player, the best goalkeeper (woman and man), and the best coach because Latin American players stand out.

The Argentines who achieved the highest competition in this sport during the World Cup stand out in particular.

Best player
The first and best candidate for the award is Lionel Messi, a current member of Paris Saint-Germain, whose performance in the World Cup was excellent. The Frenchman Kylian Mbappé, Messi's partner in Paris, also sounds and is seen as a significant player due to his eight goals, which led all scorers at the World Cup in Qatar.

Last but not least is the Frenchman Karim Benzema, who had a fantastic season with Real Madrid and won the UEFA Champions League despite not participating in the World Cup.

Best Goalkeeper

Due to his key involvement with the Argentine team during the soccer World Cup, world champion goalkeeper Emiliano 'Dibu' Martinez is the player who tops the list and is anticipated to be a strong candidate.

The Moroccan goalkeeper Yassine Bounou, who plays for Sevilla and whose performance with his team was notable during Qatar 2022, is disputing the award. The Belgian Thibaut Courtois, who won the European Champions League with the merengue team, is the last participant.

Best Female Goalkeeper

The Chilean goalkeeper Christiane Endler, who plays for Olympique de Lyon, the current champion of the Champions League, is disputing the award. Other candidates are the Spanish goalkeeper Sandra Paños from Barcelona and the champion of the last European Championship with the England team, Mary Earps, which is part of the Manchester United squad.

Best Men's Soccer Coach

Nobody would disagree that Lionel Scaloni ought to have advanced to the finals for this honor. In addition to winning the Copa América 2021, he has also named global champion in Dec. thanks to his work with the Argentine National Team.

Like the Italian Carlo Ancelotti, who has a significant presence at Real Madrid, the Spanish Pep Guardiola, who is in charge of Manchester City, will work to win this respect.

Puskás Award

This year's Puskás prize carries a unique significance. In a game between Warta Pozna and Stal Rzeszów in the Polish Amputee League, Polish player Marcin Oleksy scored an intriguing goal with an incredible twist in the air.

This is good for soccer because FIFA is attempting to be inclusive by taking into account all soccer leagues, regardless of their circumstances. It serves as a role model for younger generations and for everyone with a specific need to pursue their aspirations via sports instead of putting them on hold.

© 2024 Latin Times. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.