Bayer Leverkusen's Javier Hernandez and USA's Carli Lloyd were named CONCACAF's 2015 Male and Female Players of the Year. REUTERS/Ina Fassbender

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association of Football announced the winners of its yearly awards on Friday and Mexican Striker Javier “Chicharito” Hernandez and United States midfielder Carli Lloyd were named the 2015 CONCACAF male and female Players of the Year.

In total, 11 different categories received awards including Coach of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, and referee’s of the year among others. The awards were voted on by members of the CONCACAF association, coaches and captains of both the men’s and women’s national teams, media and fans.

Hernandez won the award, in part, because of his extraordinary first half of the season with German Bundesliga team, Bayer Leverkusen. Chicharito was transferred to the German club from Manchester United during the summer transfer window and has scored 19 goals in 21 games with his new club.

Lloyd was by leaps and bounds the best female player in the world in 2015, and capped off a magnificent year by leading the United States Women’s National Team to the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup title. She solidified her Golden Ball trophy with a hat trick in the World Cup final against Japan.

Here are the other categories that were awarded CONCAAF prizes:

CONCACAF Male Player of the Year
1. Javier Hernandez (FW/MEX); Bayer 04 Leverkusen (GER)
2. Bryan Ruiz (FW/CRC); Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)
3. Andres Guardado (MF/MEX); PSV Eindhoven (NED)

CONCACAF Female Player of the Year
1. Carli Lloyd (MF/USA); Houston Dash (USA )
2. Alex Morgan (FW/USA); Orlando Pride (USA)
3. Shirley Cruz (MF/CRC); Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA)

CONCACAF Male Goalkeeper of the Year
1. Tim Howard (GK/USA); Everton FC (ENG)
2. Jaime Penedo (GK/PAN); Deportivo Saprissa (CRC)
3. Guillermo Ochoa (GK/MEX); Malaga FC (ESP)

CONCACAF Female Goalkeeper of the Year
1. Hope Solo (GK/USA); Seattle Reign FC (USA)
2. Dinnia Diaz (GK/CRC); Moravia (CRC)
3. Cecilia Santiago (GK/MEX); Apollon Limassol (CYP)

CONCACAF Male Coach of the Year
1. Hernan Dario Gomez (COL); Panama National Team
2. Caleb Porter (USA); Portland Timbers (USA)
3. Miguel Herrera (MEX); Club Tijuana (MEX)

CONCACAF Female Coach of the Year
1. Jill Ellis (USA); United States Women's National Team
2. Amelia Valverde (CRC); Costa Rica Women's National Team
3. Raiza Gutierrez (PAN); Panama Women's National Team/Panama Women's Under-20 National Team

CONCACAF Male Referee of the Year
1. Joel Aguilar (SLV)
2. Roberto Garcia (MEX)
3. Fernando Guerrero (MEX)

CONCACAF Female Referee of the Year
1. Kimberly Moreira (CRC)
2. Lucila Venegas (MEX)
3. Carol Anne Chenard (CAN)

CONCACAF Goal of the Year
1. Carli Lloyd (USA); USA vs. Japan (16')
2. Paul Aguilar (MEX); Mexico vs. USA (120+2')
3. Darwin Quintero (COL); Club America vs. Walter Ferretti (13')

GK : Tim Howard (GK/USA); Everton FC (ENG)
DF : Roman Torres (DF/PAN), Seattle Sounders FC (USA); Giancarlo Gonzalez (DF/CRC), US Citta di Palermo (ITA); Hector Moreno (DF/MEX), PSV Eindhoven (NED); Miguel Layun (DF/MEX), FC Porto (POR)
MF : Andres Guardado (MF/MEX), PSV Eindhoven (NED); Michael Bradley (MF/USA), Toronto FC (CAN); Joel Campbell (MF/CRC), Arsenal FC (ENG); Jesus Corona (MF/MEX), FC Porto (POR)
FW : Javier Hernandez (FW/MEX), Bayer 04 Leverkusen (GER); Bryan Ruiz (FW/CRC), Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)

GK : Hope Solo (GK/USA), Seattle Reign FC (USA)
DF : Kenti Robles (DF/MEX), Atletico Madrid (ESP); Becky Sauerbrunn (DF/USA), FC Kansas City FC (USA); Lixy Rodriguez (DF/CRC), UCEM Alajuela (CRC); Diana Saenz (DF/CRC), University of South Florida (USA)
MF : Carli Lloyd (MF/USA), Houston Dash (USA); Shirley Cruz (MF/CRC), Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA); Katherine Alvarado (MF/CRC), Saprissa (CRC); Veronica Perez (MF/MEX), Canberra United FC (AUS)
FW : Alex Morgan (FW/USA), Orlando Pride (USA); Raquel Rodriguez (FW/CRC), Penn State University (USA)

© 2023 Latin Times. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.