Apple never fails to stir up intrigue right before the release of any of its releases. And this time around, it’s a Music Awards—with a global, live-streamed performance helmed by Billie Eilish at the Steve Jobs Theatre on December 4 at 6:30 p.m. PST. The event will be broadcast on Apple TV.

But that’s not all. The release of this initiative comes with a subsequent other: An award which is about 20 inches tall by 16 inches by three-quarters of an inch, as per a recent report. The solid piece is designed to be wall-mounted, but the recipient can opt for an acrylic stand as well.

Apple_announces-first-Apple-Music-Awards-hardware-award_120219 Apple announces first Apple Music Awards. Apple

Given how music plays a key role in Apple’s identity; the initiative of a Music Award fits perfectly. A series of five awards are to be bestowed by the technology giant such as the Artist of the Year, Songwriter of the Year and Breakthrough Artist of the Year.

The aforementioned awards are choices made by Apple's in-house music curators. The final two (Top Album of the Year and Top Song of the Year) are awarded on the basis of the number of streams a track has achieved on Apple Music.

Throwing in a bit of context, Apple was certain that the award was emblazoned with its trademark materials: polished glass, brushed aluminum, and silicon. Silicon is refined and further purified in a process, which in turn leaves the material in a heavy ingot shaped like a cylinder. This cylinder features a diameter of 12 inches and is diced into pencil-thin wafers of the same dimension.

The Award bares an uncanny resemblance to an ultra-modern speaker. As per another recent report,  the device has a new-age touch and comes in different colors, achieved by depositing copper layers on the wafer.

The list of winners of the Apple Music Awards are:

Global Artist of the Year: Billie Eilish

Songwriter of the Year: Billie Eilish O'Connell

Breakthrough Artist of the Year 2019: Lizzo

Album of the Year: “When We Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?” - Billie Eilish

Song of the Year “Old Town Road” - Lil Nas X