Emmanuel Lubezki, Leo DiCaprio, Alejandro G. Iñárritu
Emmanuel Lubezki, Leonardo DiCaprio, Alejandro G. Iñárritu all winners for 'The Revenant,' pose onstage during the 88th Annual Academy Awards at the Dolby Theatre on February 28, 2016 in Hollywood, California. Getty

The biggest night in Hollywood took place on Sunday, February 28 with the celebration of the 88th Academy Awards, or Oscars, as we all know them by now. This event, commemorating the best of the year in film, kicked off with an amazing red carpet full of fringe, deep necklines, nude and bold lips, elegant tuxes, and jewelry to make Elizabeth Taylor jealous. But it wasn’t until the actual show began with Chris Rock calling out the Academy in a 10-minute-long monologue over the #OscarsSoWhite controversy, that we knew we were really in for a treat. Rock, as the host, took it upon him to remind everyone about racial issues that still prevail in this day and age through humorous skits and witty comments.

Although Chris Rock's comments resonated with the audience at the Dolby Theater and at home, the night was about celebrating all the people behind making the biggest films, and of couse, celebrating the winners, including “Max Mad: Fury Road,” a movie that took a total of six Oscars; Alejandro G. Iñárritu, who made history as a director to win two years in a row, this time for “The Revenant;” Emmanuel “Chivo” Lubezki, who won his third Oscar in a row for Best Cinematography, also for “The Revenant;” “Bear Story,” an animated short film by Chileans Gabriel Osorio and Pato Escala; and finally, an Oscar for Leonardo DiCaprio for his performance in “The Revenant.” It was long overdue after six nominations for Best Actor in a Leading Role and never winning at the Academy Awards.

Scroll down to see the full list of winners.

Original Screenplay:

“Spotlight” by Josh Singer, Tom McCarthy

Adapted Screenplay:

“The Big Short” by Charles Randolph, Adam McKay

Actress In A Supportive Role:

Alicia Vikander, “The Danish Girl”

Costume Design:

Jenni Beavan, “Max Mad: Fury Road”

Production Design:

“Mad Max: Fury Road”

Colin Gibson, Production Design

Lisa Thompson, Set Decoration

Makeup and Hairstyling:

“Max Mad: Fury Road” Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega, Damian Martin


Emmanuel Lubezki, “The Revenant”

Film Editing:

Margaret Sixel, “Mad Max: Fury Road”

Sound Editing:

Mark Mangini, David White, “Mad Max: Fury Road”

Sound Mixing:

Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff, Ben Osmo, “Mad Max: Fury Road”

Visual Effects:

Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington, Sara Bennett, “Ex Machina”

Animated Short Film:

“Bear Story” Gabriel Osorio, Pato Escala

Animated Feature Film:

“Inside Out” Pete Docter, Jonas Rivera

Actor In A Supportive Role:

Mark Rylance, “Bridge Of Spies”

Documentary Short Film:

“A Girl In The River: The Price Of Forgiveness” Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy

Documentary Feature:

“Amy” Asif Kapadia, James Gay-Rees

Live Action Short Film:

“Stutterer” Benjamin Cleary, Serena Armitage

Foreign Language Film:

“Son Of Saul” Hungary; Directed by László Nemes

Original Score:

“The Hateful Eight” Ennio Morricone

Original Song:

“Writings On The Wall” from “Spectre” by Jimmy Napes, Sam Smith

Best Director:

Alejandro G. Iñárritu for “The Revenant”

Best Actress In A Leading Role:

Brie Larson for “Room”

Best Actor In A Leading Role:

Leonardo DiCaprio for “The Revenant”

Best Picture:

“Spotlight” Michael Sugar, Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin and Blye Pagon Faust , Producers

© 2024 Latin Times. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.