Curt Schilling
BOSTON - OCTOBER 20: Starting pitcher Curt Schilling #38 of the Boston Red Sox deals against the Cleveland Indians during Game Six of the American League Championship Series at Fenway Park on October 20, 2007 in Boston, Massachusetts. (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images) Elsa/Getty Images

The National Baseball Hall of Fame’s Contemporary Committee announced it has voted Fred McGriff into Cooperstown. McGriff was the only player to make the cut while Don Mattingly, Curt Schilling, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Dale Murphy, and Rafael Palmeiro missed the cut.

The committee is designed to help review players who weren't voted in by the BBWAA. It seems unlikely that Bonds and Clemens ever get in, as this was likely their final chance. Both have suffered from the perception of them cheating by using steroids.

To get in, players needed 12 out of a possible 16 votes to get in. Both Clemens and Bonds received less than 4 votes. McGriff received all 16 votes.

© 2024 Latin Times. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.