Shakira in the release party of Las Mujeres No Lloran
Alicia Civita

MIAMI - Latina super star Shakira released her new album "Las Mujeres Ya No Lloran" (LMYNL) at midnight on Friday, her first work of the kind in seven years after and marking a period of personal betrayals and challenges, ultimately leading to a return to the U.S. and her true self, both at a personal and musical level.

However, LMYNL also marks the emergence of a new Shakira, forged after a journey through hell and back. Stronger than ever, this version is unbridled, unapologetic, and without limitations.

This freedom is evident in several of the album's 16 tracks. Eight of these were previously released: "Monotonía," "Acróstico," "Te Felicito," "Copa Vacía," "Bzrp Music Sessions, Vol. 53," "El Jefe," and "TQG," her work with Karol G. The ninth is an EDM version of session 53, but the remaining seven are a snapshot of the current Shakira.

Empowered at all levels

Songs like 'Puntería' in collaboration with American rapper Cardi B and 'Cohete,' her second song on the album with Puerto Rican Rauw Alejandro, illustrate this newfound freedom, even embracing sexuality in her music.

In 'Cohete,' they sing, "There's no greater pleasure than to touch you. No one like you makes me flow. I don't want the Moon, nor to go to Mars; I just want to make you come for me."

"Puntería" features lyrics like, "I don't know if I want to stop. And your hands melt me, your lips drug me. Your biceps drive me crazy. I never direct you, you always arrive, for sure. Up to my G-spot, haha."

A final goodbye to Piqué

Meanwhile, "Última," which, as its name suggests, is the last song dedicated to her former partner and father of her children, former Spanish soccer player Gerard Piqué, begins with the phrase "I thank you." This shows that the 'she-wolf' who was not "for guys like you," has stopped moaning in pain and now howls in fullness.

This is one of her four solo songs, which also include "Nassau," "Tiempo sin verte," and "Dónde y cuándo." In them, Shakira returns to her musical essence of international fusions, with melodic strength and, in some cases, heart-wrenching lyrics and pop rock that her fans have longed for since her first album, "Pies Descalzos."

Cardi B, Karol G, Rauw Alejandro, Ozuna, Manuel Turizo, DJs and producers Bizarrap and Tiësto, as well as regional Mexican music groups Grupo Frontera and Fuerza Régida, along with her children Milan and Sasha, join her in 12 of the 16 songs on the project. The album features reggaeton, bachata, ballads, cumbia, EDM, electro and synth pop, corridos tumbados sierreños y urbanos, and trap.

Shakira presented the project personally as a "testament to resilience, empowerment, and the beauty of female strength" in a multimedia installation/party at the Hard Rock Hotel on the outskirts of Miami, attended by The Latin Times, with the presence of major Latin figures in entertainment and sports.

"I hope you enjoy it and make it your own," said the artist minutes before LMYNL was released to the public. "That's what is supposed to happen with albums. To become the soundtrack of people's lives.".

Las Mujeres Ya No Lloran Tracklist

1.⁠ ⁠Puntería x Cardi B

2.⁠ ⁠La Fuerte x Bizarrap

3.⁠ ⁠Tiempo Sin Verte

4.⁠ ⁠Cohete x Rauw Alejandro

5.⁠ ⁠(Entre Paréntesis) x Grupo Frontera

6.⁠ ⁠Cómo Dónde y Cuándo

7.⁠ ⁠Nassau

8.⁠ ⁠Última

9.⁠ ⁠Te Felicito x Rauw Alejandro

10.⁠ ⁠Monotonía x Ozuna

11.⁠ ⁠Bzrp Music Sessions, Vol. 53

12.⁠ ⁠TQG x Karol G

13.⁠ ⁠Acróstico x Milan + Sasha

14.⁠ ⁠Copa Vacía x Manuel Turizo

15.⁠ ⁠El Jefe x Fuerza Regida

16.⁠ ⁠Bzrp Music Sessions, Vol. 53 (Remix Tiësto)

17. Punteria (Vinyl Version)

© 2024 Latin Times. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.