United States Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor will lead the final countdown on New Year Eve as the iconic Times Square ball descends to ring in 2014. On Sunday, the organizers of the annual Times Square event announced that Sotomayor would throw the switch that will start the 60-second countdown to midnight on New Year’s Eve. Appointed in 2009, Sotomayor was the first Hispanic to serve as a Supreme Court Justice. Event planners said that the Bronx native was chosen for her life’s achievements and her rise from her “humble beginnings.”

Tim Tompkins, the president of the Times Square Alliance told the Washington Post that Sotomayor is “an inspirational and aspirational choice.” Tompkins also said, “Justice Sotomayor is an inspiration to many, and it is a privilege to welcome her to our celebration to ring in 2014.” Other political figures that have been a part of the ball drop in New York City include the former secretary of state Colin Powell in 2004 as well as Hilary and Bill Clinton in 2008. Outgoing mayor of New York City Michael Bloomberg will not be present at the celebrations this year.

The three-term mayor opted for a quiet evening with his family this New Year’s Eve. Sotomayor will release the Times Square ball made up of 2,600 crystal triangles and 32,000 lights following Miley Cyrus’ performance. Other performers that will grace the stage in New York City include Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Blondie, Icona Pop, Jencarlos Canela, El Dasa, Rodney Atkins and Melissa Etheridge. Beginning at 6pm ET a Chinese cultural performance will kick off the festivities with displays of Kung Fu and a colorful fan dance. The ball will begin to drop at 11:59pm ET as Times Square counts down to 2014.