Alejandro Sanz Dedicates Latin Grammy 'Person Of The Year' Award To DREAMers [VIDEO]

Alejandro Sanz was honored with the Person of the Year award this year at the Latin Grammys 2017. At the time of his acceptance speech during the award show, he dedicated the trophy to all the DREAMers, those people that entered the country as minors and have been a productive member of society having been granted protection under DACA. During Sanz' performance  the "dreamers" joined him on stage for an emotional surprise. Watch the performance below and tell us what you think!

The 2017 Latin Recording Academy Person of the Year Gala will honor 18-time Latin GRAMMY and three-time GRAMMY winner, Alejandro Sanz for his artistry and philanthropic contributions to organizations such as Doctors without Borders, Save the Children and Greenpeace. Confirmed artists that will honor Sanz include Anitta, percussionists Nacho Arimany and Diego "El Negro" Álvarez, dancer Ismael Fernández, Siudy Garrido, Manuel Medrano, Jesús Montoya and guitarist José Antonio Rodríguez.

The Latin Person of the Year award is bestowed upon musicians as a recognition of their artistic achievements in the  music industry, and for their commitment to philanthropy. Past honorees include Marc Anthony, Miguel Bosé, Roberto Carlos, Plácido Domingo, Emilio Estefan, Gloria Estefan, Vicente Fernández, Juan Gabriel, Gilberto Gil, Juan Luis Guerra, Julio Iglesias, José José, Carlos Santana, Joan Manuel Serrat, Shakira, Ricky Martin, and Caetano Veloso.

Who were the presenters? Presenters handing out the gramophone include Anavitória, Camila Cabello, Sofia Carson,Erika Ender, Flo Rida, Leslie Grace, Maribel Guardia, Juan Luis Guerra, Rudy Mancuso, Debi Nova,Marco de la O, Alexandre Pires, Lele Pons, Edgar Ramírez, Miguel Ángel Silvestre, Olga Tañón, andWilmer Valderrama, as well as Best New Artist nominees Martina "La Peligrosa" and Rosalía.

Who were the performers? Performances for the 18th Annual Latin Grammy Awards include Steve Aoki, Bad Bunny, J Balvin, Bronco, Alessia Cara, CNCO, Lila Downs, Luis Fonsi, Ha*Ash, Nicky Jam, Juanes, Mon Laferte, Natalia Lafourcade, Banda el Recodo de Cruz Lizárraga, Logic, Maluma, Lin Manuel Miranda, French Montana, Residente, Sofía Reyes, Alejandro Sanz, Flor de Toloache, Carlos Vives, and Sebastián Yatra.

New additions to the lineup include nominees Rubén Blades, Bomba Estéreo, Alejandro Fernández, and Los Macorinos; along with appearances by Diplo, Víctor Manuelle, and Carlos Rivera. Featuring a Best New Artist segment including current nominees Vicente García, Mau y Ricky, Sofia Reyes, and Danay Suarez

Special performances will feature collaborations by Juanes with Logic and Alessia Cara; Carlos Vivesand Sebastián Yatra; J Balvin with Bad Bunny, French Montana and Steve Aoki; Lila Downs and Banda el Recodo de Cruz Lizárraga; and Bronco with Ha*Ash.

"More than ever, Latin music continues to have an enormous cultural impact by uniting people throughout the world," said Gabriel Abaroa Jr., President/CEO of The Latin Recording Academy. "Many of this year's nominees have expanded beyond traditional genres to create different fusions through creative collaborations. These artists, producers, and writers, united by artistic excellence and devotion to their craft, have come together to deliver eclectic music that has resulted in worldwide success."

What do you think?

Armando Tinoco is an Orange County-based writer with a degree in Marketing from Cal. State Fullerton and a degree in Graphic Design from the Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising. In addition to reporting for Latin Times and when he is not watching Brazilian and Mexican telenovelas or quoting lines from "Clueless" and "Friends" he is brushing up his skills in CSS and responsive website design. Some of his celebrity idols include Eiza Gonzalez, Paulina Rubio and Amanda Bynes.