Kansas City Chiefs, Super Bowl LVIII
Kansas City Chiefs players celebrate Mecole Hardman Jr. 3-yard TD reception to win Super Bowl LVIII against the San Francisco 49ers Steph Chambers/Getty Images

SEATTLE - For the second time in NFL history, this year's Super Bowl was decided in overtime after a dramatic first 60 minutes that ended in a tied 19-19 score. The Kansas City Chiefs came out victorious after Patrick Mahomes connected a 3-yard TD pass to Mecole Hardman Jr., beating the San Francisco 49ers 25-22 and claiming the 4th Vince Lombardi trophy in franchise history, the third of the Patrick Mahomes-Andy Reid era.

The only other time the Super Bowl went to overtime was in 2017, when the New England Patriots overcame a 28-3 deficit and scored 31 unanswered points to beat the Atlanta Falcons at Super Bowl LI.

Kansas City is just the 8th different team in NFL history to win consecutive Super Bowls and the first one to accomplish such feat since the New England Patriots did so between 2003-04.

After trailing for most of the game, Patrick Mahomes did what he does best and orchestrated the comeback, throwing for over 300 yards and two touchdowns. He is the 5th different quarterback to start and win three Super Bowls, joining Tom Brady, Joe Montana, Terry Bradshaw and Troy Aikman.

His efforts were enough to grant him another Super Bowl MVP award, the third in his career. In the history of the NFL, only Tom Brady (5) and Joe Montana (3) have been named Super Bowl MVP at least three times.

Travis Kelce had himself a game, showing up for the Chiefs faithful when they needed him most. His 93 receiving yards today put him at a total of 350 yards in Super Bowl games, the second most by a tight-end only behind Rob Gronkowski's 364.

Moreover, Coach Andy Reid became the 5th different coach in NFL history to win three Super Bowl titles, all with the Chiefs.

This will be a tough blow to take for the Niners, as their 28-year drought without a Super Bowl continues. After winning each of its first five Super Bowl appearances, San Francisco has lost each of their last three, the last two against Mahomes and the Chiefs. Only the Minnesota Vikings (4), Buffalo Bills (4) and Cincinnati Bengals (3) have lost three or more Super Bowls in the bounce.

Niners head coach Kyle Shanahan will have to wait until next season to give it another go at that Super Bowl ring that seems to be eluding him. Under his tenure, the San Francisco 49ers have reached at least the conference championship game in four of the five seasons he's been the head coach.

© 2024 Latin Times. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.