Maluma and Peso Pluma most nominated Premoi Lo Nuestro 2024
Latin Times/Courtesy La DobleP, SML

MIAMI - The 36th edition of Premio Lo Nuestro is around the corner, with Univision announing the nominees on Monday. Colombian superstar Maluma leads the group of 180 nominees in 38 categories with 14 mentions. Peso Pluma and Grupo Frontera follow suit with 13 and 10, respectively. Additionally, Feid and Karol G secured nine nominations each.

The Premio Lo Nuestro gala, which recognizes the best in Latin Music will be broadcast live by Univision from the Kaseya Center in downtown Miami on February 22.

The hosting duties for this year's ceremony will be shared by a trio of renowned personalities: iconic telenovela actress and radio personality Angélica Vale, celebrated Dominican actress and TV presenter Clarissa Molina, and the ever-charismatic Mexican television star Galilea Montijo.

Angelica Vale, Galilea Montijo, Clarisa Molina, presentadoras PLN 2024
TelevisaUnivision, 93.9FM/Latin Times

The 2024 Premio Lo Nuestro nominees

Karol G and Shakira are the only two female artists competing in the category of Premio Lo Nuestro Artist of the Year, while Grupo Frontera is the only band in the pack. Camilo, Feid, Maluma, Carin León, Bad Bunny, Ozuna, and Peso Pluma complete the category.

The tracks in the "Song of the Year" nominations are diverse. "Ambulancia" by Camilo and Camila Cabello and "Bzrp Music Sessions, Vol. 53" by Bizarrap and Shakira represent pop. Rosalía's "Despechá" and Prince Royce's "Me Enred" are bachatas.

Camilo and Camila Cabello nominated PLN 24 for Ambulancia
SML/Latin Times

"X100to" by Bad Bunny and Grupo Frontera, "Ella baila sola" by Eslabón Armado and Peso Pluma, and "Y qué tal si funciona" by Yuridia and Banda MS represent regional Mexican.

"Nunca y Pico" by Yandel, Maluma, and Eladio Carrión, "Sé que estás con él" by Silvestre Dangond, Boza, and Reik, and "Lala" by Mike Towers complete the list representing reggaeton.

The surprises of PLN 2024

Bad Bunny's low amount of nominations was very unexpected, considering he is only competing in six categories. Two as "Artist of the Year" (General and Urban) and recognitions for "X100to," his song with Grupo Frontera. His album "NSLQVPM" is not nominated.

The power of Mexican music is recognized in most categories, except some dedicated only to Urban music although, Peso Pluma and Yng Lvcas carved a prominent space with their mega hit "La Bebé."

There is also a record presence of anglo and international artists in the Premio Lo Nuestro nominations: Adam Levine, Black Eyed Peas, Dj Khalid, Hoobastank, Lil Jon, Louchie Lou, Marshmello, Mc Kevin o Chris, Sean Paul, The Chainsmokers, as well as the 2024 Super Bowl Half Time star Usher.

Premio Lo Nuestro "The Powers is Ours"

Continuing its uninterrupted celebration since 1989, Premio Lo Nuestro will pay tribute to the significant achievements of Latin artists and the undeniable global impact of our music, under the slogan "The Power of Ours."

The nominations for Premio Lo Nuestro 2024 are based on airplay on UFORIA radio stations during the eligibility period (August 31, 2022, to September 1, 2023), as well as streaming data and the evaluation of a committee composed of music and entertainment experts.

PREMIO LO NUESTRO will also be broadcast in Mexico on Las Estrellas on February 24. Fans can vote for their winners among all nominees from today until February 4 at

© 2024 Latin Times. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.