Univision Cancels 'Yago', Moves It To UniMás; 'A Que No Me Dejas' Premieres In Its Place

'Yago' Telenovela
Univision is making major changes to its primetime block as it ships "Yago" to its sister network UniMás. Find out what telenovela will take its place here! Televisa

Univision is making major changes to its primetime programming lineup. "Yago" has not been performing up to the Spanish-language network's standards and is being shipped out of the flagship channel into sister network UniMás.

The Iván Sánchez starrer will premiere on the station starting Monday, May 23, at 12 midnight EST/11 p.m. CST. Moving the series to the lesser rated network and to the midnight timeslot is a low blow to the production, actors and above all, the loyal viewers.

Producer Carmen Armendáriz has already weighed in on the news after fans started tweeting her. "Maybe 'Yago' will be better off on UniMás," she wrote. "A story so different that needs another home. I promise that you will be glued to your tv."

She also teased her followers on what was to come next in the series: "Everything that is coming to 'Yago' are jealousy, crimes, sex, more betrayals and confessions. It's a strong story, don't stop watching. I promise you that what we will tell you [on the telenovela] will be of your complete approval. It will get hot."

So what will happen with "Yago's" timeslot when it moves out of Univision? For the week of May 23, the network plans on airing double episodes of "Tres Veces Ana" from 9 p.m. EST/8 p.m. CST. 

The telenovela starring Angelique Boyer and Sebastián Rulli will air for two hours for one week. Starting May 30, "A Que No Me Dejas" will take over the 10 p.m. EST/9 p.m. CST slot.

The aforementioned production also stars Camila Sodi, Osvaldo Benavides, Arturo Peniche, Leticia Calderón and many more.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What do you think?

Armando Tinoco is an Orange County-based writer with a degree in Marketing from Cal. State Fullerton and a degree in Graphic Design from the Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising. In addition to reporting for Latin Times and when he is not watching Brazilian and Mexican telenovelas or quoting lines from "Clueless" and "Friends" he is brushing up his skills in CSS and responsive website design. Some of his celebrity idols include Eiza Gonzalez, Paulina Rubio and Amanda Bynes.